Art 118 presented a project to make a booklet of something related to Portland. Of course the first thing I thought of was Voodoo Doughnuts! This book has digital work and constructive work that are used together to create a feeling of being hand-made. While the book idea was being developed I made a little voodoo man out of felt, foam and thread. This helped me develop the feeling I was trying to portray in the book. The first thing I was inspired by was Disney’s Frog Prince because the colors feel very iconic for a voodoo theme. Color was my first thought that shaped the project. I knew that the book had to be purple and green. Although as I researched I came to realize that one of the things that Voodoo Doughnuts was famous for was their pink boxes that the large packages of doughnuts were delivered inside. So after working things around I managed to work in that pink color that represented the doughnut boxes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The outside cover is made of  green paper with hand drawn text. The doughnut on the cover is made of three different papers. One is a textured brown paper and the “frosting” is hot pink with a transparent white paper on top. The sprinkles are made of foam paint. The whole book is hand stitched together with violet thread.

The inside is a compilation of all the research me and three other friends collected. We went to Voodoo Doughnuts and bought 6 doughnuts of different kinds and ate each one giving our opinions. The point of the project was to encourage people who have not visited the shop to get their butts over there and try it out!

The first page is a spread of images of the shop with a little info of where the shop is located, when they are open and how you can get to the shop easily by Max train. As you flip through the pages you can read the fun facts and info about each doughnut as they were consumed by 4 consumers. The last page is a collage with a bunch of fun images of the doughnuts and the vicinity. Of course to top off the book the last page has a while through it with Voodoo Doughnut’s most famous slogan “The Magic is in the Hole”.